Monday, September 8, 2014

Winners of the MIDORI Prize for Biodiversity 2014

The winners of the MIDORI Prize for Biodiversity 2014 have been announced today in Tokyo, Japan and Montreal, Canada. The MIDORI Prize is a biennial international prize organized by the AEON Environmental Foundation and the Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD) to honor individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity at global, regional or local levels.

The winners of the 2014 Prize are: Dr. Kamal Bawa, President, Ashoka Trust for Research in Ecology and the Environment (ATREE), India, and Distinguished Professor, University of Massachusetts, Boston, USA; Dr. Alfred Oteng-Yeboah, Chair, Ghana National Biodiversity Committee, Ghana and; Dr. Bibiana Vilá, Principal Researcher, National Research Council (CONICET) and Director, Vicuñas, Camelids and Environment (VICAM), Argentina.

No comments:

Post a Comment