Tuesday, November 29, 2011

The outstanding nominees for the 2012 Indianapolis Prize are:

§ Steven C. Amstrup, Ph.D.: (Polar Bears International) Directed research that led to the 2008 listing of polar bears as a threatened species under the Endangered Species Act; developed infrared technology to locate polar bear dens under the snow.
§ P. Dee Boersma, Ph.D.: (University of Washington, Seattle; Center for Penguins as Ocean Sentinels) Since 1970s has studied and documented impact of global warming on penguins, and successfully stopped harmful harvesting and development through penguin colonies.
§ Markus Borner, Ph.D.: (Frankfurt Zoological Society) Champion for the Serengeti ecosystem and its endangered black rhinos through biodiversity conservation and ecologically sustainable development; established the first Community Conservation Program in the Serengeti.
§ Robert Buchanan: (Polar Bears International) Leader in polar bear conservation and champion for the Arctic; created PBI’s Tundra Connections™ educational program that broadcasts live programs over the Internet into classrooms around the world.
§ Gerardo Ceballos, Ph.D.: (Instituto de Ecología, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México) Champion for jaguars in Mexico, conducting the first country-level jaguar census and the most comprehensive jaguar study to date; finalist for the 2010 Indianapolis Prize.
§ Lisa Dabek, Ph.D.: (Tree Kangaroo Conservation Program; Woodland Park Zoo, Seattle) Founder of the Tree Kangaroo Conservation Program; responsible for the first Conservation Area in Papua New Guinea; used Crittercam© technology for the first time on arboreal mammals that allows scientists to record animal behavior through mounted video cameras and transmitters.
§ Jaret Daniels, Ph.D.: (University of Florida, Florida Museum of Natural History; IFAS Department of Entomology and Nematology) Butterfly conservationist dedicated to assisting imperiled butterfly species recovery; formed the Florida Butterfly Monitoring Network, a statewide citizen-scientist program that trains volunteers and directly engages researchers.
§ Karen L. Eckert, Ph.D.: (WIDECAST: Wider Caribbean Sea Turtle Conservation Network) Dedicated to research, multilateral marine resource management and the international conservation policies for sea turtles for more than three decades.
§ Lisa Hywood: (Tikki Hywood Trust) Works tirelessly to preserve Zimbabwe’s wildlife – including captive breeding, management and monitored release of endangered species and conservation education in underprivileged, rural areas.
§ Rodney Jackson, Ph.D.: (Snow Leopard Conservancy) Conducted an in-depth radio-tracking study of snow leopards in the 1980s; dedicated to building local communities’ capacity as key players in conserving the species; finalist for the 2008 and 2010 Indianapolis Prize.
§ Charlene Jendry: (Columbus Zoo and Aquarium) Responsible for numerous initiatives that have had a positive impact on survival of mountain gorillas and resulted in significantly reduced poaching and deforestation.
§ Carl Jones, Ph.D.: (Mauritian Wildlife Foundation) Biologist who pioneered the techniques of applied population management to reverse the decline of the most endangered species; instrumental in the creation of the first national park in Mauritius; involved in the recovery of five bird species coming from populations of less than ten.
§ James A. Kushlan, Ph.D.: (HeronConservation, the IUCN Heron Specialist Group) Co-founded the IUCN Heron Specialist Group; primary author of the 2004 North American Waterbird Conservation Plan which systemized the conservation needs of more than 200 species from Canada through the Caribbean.
§ Robert C. Lacy, Ph.D.: (Chicago Zoological Society; IUCN Conservation Breeding Specialist Group) Developed analytical techniques and software for optimal genetic management of wildlife populations while pioneering research on the importance of genetic diversity.
§ David W. Macdonald, D.Sc.: (WildCRU: Wildlife Conservation Research Unit, University of Oxford) Pioneered the scientific basis of practical conservation, establishing conservation biology as a science among European universities by founding WildCRU in 1986; specializes in wild carnivore research and was the founder and, for 25 years, chairman of the IUCN’s Canid Specialist Group.
§ Laurie Marker, D.Phil.: (Cheetah Conservation Fund) Founded the Cheetah Conservation Fund; led a conservation program from humble beginnings in rural Namibia to an unparalleled model for predator conservation; finalist for the 2008 and 2010 Indianapolis Prize.
§ Sharon Matola: (Belize Zoo) Founder of the Belize Zoo; spearheading Belize’s environmental education on behalf of jaguars.
§ Charles Mayhew, MBE: (Tusk Trust) African ecosystem conservationist who co-founded Tusk Trust in 1990; backed the launch of a collection of community-managed conservancies now covering 3 million acres in northern Kenya and instigated the acclaimed PACE, Pan African environmental education initiative.
§ Russell A. Mittermeier, Ph.D.: (Conservation International) Visionary leader able to motivate every level of conservationist to support the greater good of many species, including primates; one of the first academic primatologists to become concerned with the welfare and conservation of primates.
§ George B. Rabb, Ph.D.: (Chicago Zoological Society) Leading amphibian conservationist in halting the species’ decline; facilitated discovery of the chytrid fungus that has been called the most devastating animal disease ever recorded.
§ Alan Rabinowitz, Ph.D.: (Panthera) Large cat conservationist whose dedication to the species has led to the development of multiple protected areas across the globe; conducted the first-ever radio telemetry research on Asiatic leopards, Asian leopard cats and civets.
§ Terri Lynn Roth, Ph.D.: (Cincinnati Zoo & Botanical Garden) Tireless researcher and advocate for rhino survival worldwide; achieved the scientific breakthrough that led to successful breeding in 2001 of the first Sumatran rhino calf to be produced in human care in 112 years; founder of the Sumatran Rhino Global Management and Propagation Board.
§ Carl Safina, Ph.D.: (Blue Ocean Institute) Brought ocean conservation into the environmental mainstream by using science, art and literature to inspire a “sea ethic;” finalist for the 2010 Indianapolis Prize.
§ Joel D. Sartore: (National Geographic) Photojournalist with mission to give vanishing species and habitats a voice before they’re gone forever; co-founder of The Grassland Foundation.
§ Anne Savage, Ph.D.: (Disney’s Animal Kingdom) Blending conservation and education with innovative programs in South America, including the “eco-mochila” initiative that reduces pollution and creates jobs.
§ Claudio Sillero, Ph.D.: (University of Oxford) Founder and director of the Ethiopian Wolf Conservation Programme, keeping watch over Africa's rarest and most endangered carnivore.
§ Jim Thomas: (Tenkile Conservation Alliance) Tripled the endangered Tenkile (tree kangaroo) population from 100 to 300 animals in eight years.
§ Charlie Welch: (Duke Lemur Center) Nurtured a Madagascar forest station into a multi-faceted conservation center with long-term programs of lemur captive husbandry, environment education, reforestation, sustainable agriculture, training/capacity building and other components.
§ Patricia Wright, Ph.D.: (Institute for the Conservation of Tropical Environments) Discovered the golden bamboo lemur in 1986, a species that was then unknown to science, which helped to catalyze the transformation of Madagascar’s park systems, turning it into a model for global conservation efforts.

To learn more about this Award please see: http://indianapolisprize.org/SitePages/home.aspx

No comments:

Post a Comment